Loading articles...

Wynne's new cabinet introduced during swearing-in ceremony

TORONTO, Ont. – Kathleen Wynne has been officially sworn in as Premier of Ontario Monday afternoon, along with her shuffled cabinet.

Wynne, 59, took the oath in the legislature just after 3:15 p.m., marking the first time anyone had set foot in the legislative chamber since McGuinty prorogued in October.

Wynne received a standing ovation as she entered the Legislature walking side-by-side with Lt. Gov. David Onley.

After thanking out-going Premier Dalton McGuinty, Onley then turned his attention to Wynne.

Wynne took the oath, making history as the first female and openly gay Premier of Ontario.

Wynne becomes the new Minister of Agriculture, while she has appointed former banker Charles Sousa as the Finance Minister, after he crossed the floor during the Liberal convention, throwing his support behind her.

Former school-board trustee Liz Sandals will take over the education portfolio from Laurel Broten, who has been the face of the government in the bitter battle with the teachers’ unions.

Long-time minister Bob Chiarelli is set to move to the position of Energy Minister, where he will have the tough job of dealing with the contentious cancelled gas plants.

Health Minister Deb Matthews will keep her post, and she has also been promoted to the the position of Deputy Premier.

Hamilton’s Ted McMeekin, the former Agriculture Minister, had the legislature laughing when he was sworn in as the new Community and Social Services Minister, ending his oath with “so help me God,” with a strong emphasis on the word “help”.

Below is a list of Ontario Premier Kathleen Wynne’s cabinet.
The other cabinet ministers are:
– Deb Matthews, Minister of Health, Deputy Premier.
– John Gerretsen, Attorney General.
– John Milloy, Government House Leader.
– Charles Sousa, Minister of Finance.
– Liz Sandals, Minister of Education.
– Bob Chiraelli, Minister of Energy.
– David Orazietti, Minister of Natural Resources.
– Michael Coteau, Minister of Citizenship and Immigration.
– Brad Duguid, Minister of Training, Colleges and Universities.
– Ted McMeekin, Minister of Community and Social Services.
– Tracy MacCharles, Minister of Consumer Services.
– Madeleine Meilleur, Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services
– Jeff Leal, Minister of Rural Affairs.
– David Orazietti, Minister of Natural Resources.
– David Zimmer, Minister of Aboriginal Affairs.
–  Rezi Moridi, Minister of Research and Innovation.
– Yasir Naqvi, Minister of Labour.
– Teresa Piruzza, Minister of Children and Youth Services.
– Mario Sergio, Minister Responsible for Seniors.
– Laurel Broten, Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs.
– Linda Jeffrey, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing (Chair of Cabinet).
– Eric Hoskins, Minister of Economic Development, Trade and Employment.
– Glen Murray, Minister of Infrastructure and Minister of Transportation.
– Michael Gravelle, Minister of Northern Development and Mines.
– Jim Bradley, Minister of Environment.
– Harinder Takhar, Minister of Government Services.
– Michael Chan, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport.

A statement from Wynne’s camp says her main leadership rival, Sandra Pupatello, is still considering her options. Wynne wants Pupatello to be part of the government in some way, according to her office.

Gerrard Kennedy who lost to Wynne in the Leadership Campaign was in attendance, however, Sandra Pupetello was not.