Loading articles...

Scotiabank Photography Award unveils three finalists for $50,000 prize

TORONTO – Canadian photographers Stan Douglas, Angela Grauerholz and Robert Walker have made the short list for this year’s Scotiabank Photography Award.

The $50,000 prize is billed as “Canada’s largest annual peer reviewed award honouring the work of contemporary Canadian photographers.”

Vancouver-based Douglas has created films, photographs and installations that re-examine particular locations or past events.

Hamburg-born Grauerholz, who lives in Montreal, is said to have influenced generations of graphic designers in Quebec.

And Montreal-born Walker is described as an innovative artist who worked extensively in dense urban environments before taking on the natural world.

The winner, who also gets a book of their work published and distributed by Steidl of Germany and an exhibition at the Scotiabank Contact Photography Festival, will be announced on May 16.

This is the third year for the award, which was founded by renowned photographer Edward Burtynsky and Jane Nokes, Scotiabank’s director of Archives, Corporate Records and Fine Art.

The two runners up receive a cash prize of $5,000 each.

This year’s jury members are William Ewing, Karen Love, and Ann Thomas.