Loading articles...

List of Ontario's new cabinet

TORONTO – There are ten newcomers in Premier Kathleen Wynne’s 27-member cabinet, including Guelph’s Liz Sandals who takes on the politically sensitive education portfolio.

Other new ministers include:
– Peterborough’s Jeff Leal in the new Ministry of Rural Affairs
– Sudbury’s David Orazietti becomes Minister of Natural Resources
– David Zimmer of Toronto takes on the stand alone Ministry of Aboriginal Affairs
– Rezi Moridi of Richmond Hill is the Minister of Research and Innovation
– Ottawa’s Yasir Naqvi, the Liberal party president, is also Minister of Labour
– Toronto’s Michael Coteau becomes Minister of Citizenship and Immigration
– Tracy MacCharles of Scarborough is Minister of Consumer Services
– Windsor’s Teresa Piruzza is Minister of Children and Youth Services
– Toronto’s Mario Sergio becomes Minister Responsible for Seniors.

Liberal cabinet ministers moved to other positions by Wynne include:
– Premier Wynne herself as Agriculture Minister
– Charles Sousa as Finance Minister
– Ottawa’s Bob Chiraelli takes on Energy
– Brad Duguid leaves energy to become Minister of Training, colleges and Universities
– Laurel Broten from education to Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs
– Hamilton’s Ted McMeekin moves from agriculture to Community and Social Services
– Linda Jeffrey takes on Municipal Affairs and Housing and is Chair of cabinet
– Eric Hoskins moves to Economic Development, Trade and Employment
– Glen Murray becomes Minister of Infrastructure and Minister of Transportation
– Michael Gravelle moves to Northern Development and Mines.

Ministers staying in their same positions include:
– Health Minister Deb Matthews, who also becomes Deputy Premier.
– Environment Minister Jim Bradley
– Attorney General John Gerretsen
– Community Safety and Correctional Services Minister Madeleine Meilleur, also responsible for Francophone Affairs
– Government services Minister Harinder Takhar
– Government House Leader John Milloy
– Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport Michael Chan